Answers to questions you might be pondering. If you don’t see the info you need, please just contact me and I’ll be happy to help.

Yes, I have a full (clean) DBS check, available to view on request.

Water can be provided, however I would ask that you please don’t bring any of your own snacks and drinks. The only exception to this is the half day sessions.

If you have medical issues, please raise this at your initial consultation, as I’m sure we can find a solution.

Please let me know by email or text as soon as you can. Make sure you include your name, and if possible, your estimated time of arrival. (Please don’t phone – it may interrupt another student’s session.) If I have another session immediately after yours, we will still have to finish at the usual time.

We will discuss this at the initial consultation. Essentially, a willingness to learn and engage with the session, any questions you want to ask (and a voice to ask them during a session – it’s part of what I’m here for, and a key quality of any good scientist), and a bit of enthusiasm. And a pen.

Payment can be made by BACS transfer or cash (I prefer not to take cheques), and is due by the end of each tutoring session. You are welcome to pay in advance if you prefer.

It depends… I may ask you to look at something or prepare something for a future session.

Not normally, but it may be possible on request – please contact me and we can discuss your requirements.

I have three cats, Sid (tabby), Princess Peach (silver tortie tabby), and Horace (pink – no, really, it’s the technical term! His fur is ginger at the tips but all white underneath!). They love roaming outdoors, but are all very friendly and will undoubtedly say hello if you let them. Don’t let them interfere with your tutoring time though!

I love cycling, and have a road bike which my Dad built for me; I also have a little red kit car (which my Dad also built, with my grandfather), which I like taking out for a drive. I read a lot and write a little. I enjoy computer games (in moderation). I am most often found in my kitchen, cooking – or near it, planning elaborate dinner parties.